Moonlite Blog

Moonlite Logo
Home iconHome active icon
Home
MoonlitesToolsEducationCreators
Blog
MoonlitesToolsEducationCreatorsCommunityBlog

ServiceNow System Administrator: CSA Exam Cost (2026)

October 7, 2026
Author: ethan_drew
ServiceNow System Administrator: CSA Exam Cost (2026)
ServiceNow Certified System Administrator (CSA)

Tried ServiceNow Certified System Administrator (CSA)? Share your experience.

ServiceNow System Administrator: What the Role Is and What the CSA Exam Costs

If you searched ServiceNow Certified System Administrator (CSA), you probably want one of two things: what the job involves or what it takes to get the Certified System Administrator (CSA) credential. This guide covers both. Every exam figure below comes from ServiceNow University's own CSA exam page. Where we could not confirm something from an official source, we say so instead of guessing.

Quick facts

Item

What ServiceNow's CSA page says

Exam fee

300 USD, or 300 Learning Credits

Length

1 hour 30 minutes

Level

Intermediate

Delivery

Pearson VUE, at an authorized test center or online with OnVUE

Time to use your registration

90 days to schedule and complete

Refunds

Exam fees are non-refundable

Result

Pass or Did Not Pass, shown right after the exam (described as conditional)

Credential

Certified System Administrator plus a Credly digital badge

Keeping it current

Annual maintenance exams (deltas) and a yearly Certification Maintenance Program (CMP) fee

ServiceNow System Administrator: CSA Exam Cost (2026)

What a ServiceNow system administrator does

ServiceNow describes the CSA as confirming that you can "configure, implement and maintain the ServiceNow system". In practice that means navigating the platform, configuring applications, managing the database layer and setting up self-service and automation. ServiceNow also says certified people handle data migration, integrations and customizations.

The target audience is wide: ServiceNow customers, partners, employees and others who want an administrator-level credential. The recommended background is three to six months of hands-on experience using and maintaining a ServiceNow instance.

If you are weighing this against other routes into IT, our profile of the Google IT Support Professional Certificate covers a lower-cost entry point. The HashiCorp Terraform Associate certification shows what another platform credential costs and tests.

How much the ServiceNow CSA exam costs

The official exam fee is 300 USD, or 300 Learning Credits. Three details on the page change what you actually pay:

  • Registration is payment. Registering secures your attempt and the fee is non-refundable, so ServiceNow tells candidates to register only when ready to schedule.

  • Instructor-led training includes one free attempt. Completing instructor-led training includes one free exam attempt.

  • Employer benefits can lower the price. Discounted exam pricing may be available through associated company benefits.

ServiceNow System Administrator: CSA Exam Cost (2026)

Each retake needs another exam fee. ServiceNow also says the retake policy includes a waiting period between attempts. The page sends candidates to the Credentialing Program Guide for the exact retake rules, which we could not read (see methodology).

Older guides still quote 150 USD. That figure does not match the current official page, so treat any article using it as out of date.

How to get certified, step by step

ServiceNow lays out four steps:

  1. Register and pay. Learning credits and credit cards are accepted. You can register at any time.

  2. Schedule within 90 days. You can book from the exam page or later from the My Exams page. Check the reschedule, cancel and no-show policy first so you avoid extra fees.

  3. Choose how to sit it. You are sent to Pearson, where you pick an authorized test center or online with OnVUE, where proctors watch by webcam.

  4. Complete it before the 90 days end. If your registration expires you must register and pay the retake fee again.

How to prepare

ServiceNow says course completion is not required but is highly recommended. It adds that its courses are built to match the exam blueprint. It also advises practicing in your own ServiceNow environment so you build real experience.

Some third-party guides list a required Fundamentals course. An older exam specification PDF said the same, but the current exam page calls the courses recommended, not required. If this matters to your plan, confirm it on the live page before paying for training.

ServiceNow System Administrator: CSA Exam Cost (2026)

Because the exam rewards hands-on practice, it helps to understand the automation ideas behind the platform. Our guide to AI automation business models explains how workflow automation turns into paid work. The LinkedIn n8n course guide shows what a short workflow course covers. For context on how a certificate stacks up on price, see our IBM AI Engineering certificate cost breakdown.

After you pass

You earn the Certified System Administrator certification and a Credly badge you can share on LinkedIn or in an email signature. To keep it, you complete annual maintenance exams and pay the yearly CMP fee. The page does not state the CMP fee amount, so budget for it as an unknown until you check your ServiceNow University account.

ServiceNow System Administrator: CSA Exam Cost (2026)

The CSA also counts toward suite certifications that unlock automatically when you earn the required credentials: Accounts Payable Operations, Sourcing and Procurement, Supplier Lifecycle Operations and Workflow Data Fabric. No extra exam is needed for those.

Where the skills can lead

ServiceNow administration is platform work, so it pairs naturally with other technical paths. Developers can see how admin skills sit beside coding in our Developer. Anyone thinking of selling platform setup as a service can compare it with the Freelancer. Two narrower ideas show how automation work gets packaged: the personal life admin automation consultant moonlite and the AI customer escalation management moonlite. Regulated industries buy automation too, as the AI regulatory reporting automation suite moonlite shows.

We have not verified a salary range for ServiceNow administrators, so we do not quote one. Treat any specific pay figure you see elsewhere as unconfirmed until it cites a source.

Tools and creators worth knowing alongside it

Admins often meet other workflow and data tools. Make is a visual automation builder, Codacy automates code quality checks for teams that write custom scripts, Julius AI helps analyze exported data, Akkio covers no-code predictions, the OpenAI Assistants API and BabyAGI show where agent-style automation is heading. Calendly is a simple scheduling tool if you start taking clients. These are separate products and none is part of the CSA exam.

For learning from people who build this kind of thing, see Sentdex for Python and machine learning tutorials. For a broader view of beginner-friendly learning paths, read our guide to the best courses for beginners to make money with AI.

Our own ServiceNow Certified System Administrator (CSA) gives a shorter overview of the credential.

How we checked this (methodology)

Verified from ServiceNow University's CSA exam page: the 300 USD or 300 Learning Credits fee, Pearson VUE delivery, 1 hour 30 minute length, Intermediate level, 90-day registration window, non-refundable fees, one free attempt with instructor-led training, possible company discounts, Credly badge, annual deltas plus the CMP fee, the retake waiting period, the recommended three to six months of experience and the four suite certifications.

Secondary sources only (not relied on for figures): community posts and third-party guides. One March 2024 community reply, from a community contributor and not ServiceNow staff, also mentioned a separate 300 USD training fee. We did not include a training price because it is not on the official page.

Unresolved (not stated in the sources we could read):

  • The current number of exam questions. An older specification for the San Diego release said "approximately 60", but that PDF is from 2022.

  • The passing score. The page we read does not state one.

  • The CMP fee amount and the exact retake waiting period, which sit in ServiceNow's Credentialing Program Guide.

Prices and policies change, so check the official CSA page and exam blueprint before you pay.

FAQ

How much does the ServiceNow system administrator exam cost?

ServiceNow lists the CSA exam at 300 USD or 300 Learning Credits. Fees are non-refundable and each retake needs a new fee.

Is the ServiceNow CSA exam hard?

ServiceNow rates it Intermediate and recommends three to six months of hands-on experience. We did not find a published pass rate.

How long is the ServiceNow CSA exam?

1 hour 30 minutes, taken through Pearson VUE.

Can I take the ServiceNow CSA exam online?

Yes. You can sit it at an authorized Pearson test center or online with OnVUE, where proctors watch by webcam.

Is training required before the exam?

No. ServiceNow calls course completion not required but highly recommended.

Does the certification expire?

ServiceNow says you keep it by completing annual maintenance exams and paying the yearly CMP fee.

What is the difference between ServiceNow system administrator and the CSA?

"System administrator" is the job. The CSA is the certification that shows you can do it.

Join the discussion

Have you taken the ServiceNow CSA, or are you weighing it against another IT certification? Tell us what you paid, how you prepared and whether it changed your job prospects.

ServiceNow Certified System Administrator (CSA)

So, what do you think of ServiceNow Certified System Administrator (CSA)?

Rate your own experience.

Join the discussion

Loading comments…

Community opinions and editorial reviews are distinct. How to assess Moonlite data and reviews